### **MINUTES**

# Farmland Protection Program Durham Soil and Water Conservation District 721 Foster St Durham, NC 27701

Meeting Number: 1 (Farmland Advisory Board) Date: January 19, 2017

#### **Advisory Board Present:**

#### **Others Present:**

Neil Frank- Chairman Will Wilson- Vice Chair Kathryn Spann- 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chair/Durham SWCD Rep. Neal Curran- Business Representative Douglas Daye- Flat River VAD Perry Whitted- Open Space Representative Nicole Connelly- At Large Talmage Layton- Falls/Lick Creek VAD John Monroe- At Large

Eddie Culberson- Soil & Water Lisa Marochak- Soil & Water Mike Dupree- Soil & Water Jane Korest-Open Space Celeste Burns- Real Estate Coordinator Deborah McGiffin- Cooperative Extension Elizabeth Zander- Piedmont Conservation Council Annette Hiatt- citizen

The regular monthly meeting of the Farmland Protection Advisory Board was held on Thursday, January 19, 2017 and called to order at 8:06am by the Chairman. The meeting was held at 721 Foster St., Durham, NC 27701.

1. December Minutes – A motion was made by John Monroe to approve the minutes for December 2016. Perry Whitted seconded the motion. Motion passed without dissent.

### 2. Membership-

- Lisa Marochak reported that Heidi Carter is the new BOCC Representative on the Farmland Board.
- 3. Ag Development Coordinator- Mike Dupree reported on the following:

### Breakfast series

- The next breakfast will be held next Thursday, January 26<sup>th</sup>. The meeting will take place at Northern High School 8am to 10am. The Culinary Arts Program will be catering the breakfast. Lisa Marochak will resend the flyer with a parking map.
- The February 9<sup>th</sup> breakfast will be held at Bull City Cool. The topic of the breakfast will be Local Buyer Discussion Panel & Mixer.
- \* Pesticide Applicators- have new EPA rules for worker protection
- There are changes to the Sales and Use Tax for 2017 that may have impact on new farmers.
- 4. 2017 ALE Grant program- Jane Korest reported on the following:
  - John Monroe recused himself from the meeting at 8:38am. The ALE Grant program is formally the Farm and Ranchland Protection Program. The ALE program will pay 50% if awarded. Jane Korest presented the Amed Tilley Farm to the Farmland Board (owner John Monroe.) A recommendation was made by Kathryn Spann for the Durham County BOCC to move forward with the 33 acre Amed Tilley Farm. Talmage Layton seconded the motion. Motion passed without dissent.

# 5. Farmers Market update-

Will Wilson gave an update on the Durham Roots Farmer's Market.

- **Market rules & application** Planning to send out a copy of the new market rules and 2017 application.
  - In the mist of application season for 2017
- Farmer Promotion Grant planning to apply before the deadline in March
- 6. Incubator Farm Subcommittee- John Monroe reported on the following:
  - They are working on putting together the gap of what is out there.

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

- **1. Real Estate Coordinator-** Jane Korest introduced Celeste Burns the new Real Estate Coordinator to the Farmland Board and staff.
- **2. 2017 Officers** There being no further nominations Talmage Layton made a motion by acclamation to keep the officers the same as last year. Perry Whitted seconded the motion. Motion passed without dissent.
- **3. DFFN** Nicole Connelly reported that the DFFN survey for farmers will go live a next week's breakfast.
- 4. **Farmland Tour-** The FPAB discussed having a tour in the spring for the County Manager and BOCC. Kathryn Spann, Jane Korest, Will Wilson, Neil Frank, Deborah McGiffin and Nicole Connelly volunteered to for a subcommittee to begin planning the tour. Lisa Marochak will send out a Doodle Pole to the subcommittee. A motion was made by Perry Whitted to allocate \$1700 toward the cost of the Farm Tour. Kathryn Spann seconded the motion. Motion passed without dissent.

**Next Meeting**– February 16, 2017 at 721 Foster St, Durham, NC 27701 (second floor conference room)

Adjourn – With no further discussion or business, Chairman, Neil Frank adjourned the meeting at 9:33 am.

Neil Frank Chair Will Wilson Vice Chair

Date approved